top of page

Three Things Before I Shut the Door

The car's in reverse. You push it back to park and get out of the car because you forgot your cell phone, again. It's also a great time to remember to pick up an extra snack for the go bag, and grab the Visa bill you were supposed to put in the mail yesterday. Yup, I'm pretty consistent at having to go back inside ONE MORE TIME to remember THREE IMPORTANT THINGS before I can shut the garage door.

So here I am, blogging one more time, before I embark on a new journey and shut the garage door to my time at Southside. I'm at a point in my family's life where they need my undivided attention. I'm stepping off the board at Southside, as well as away from committee work within Southside, including being a moderator for the Facebook page. But before I shut the door, I'd like to remind you of THREE IMPORTANT THINGS.


YOU IS KIND.

Be kind to one another. Y'all do an amazing job at being kind to each other on our Facebook Group Southside Support for Special Needs Families. I'm so proud of each of you for sharing your stories and encouraging each other.


YOU IS SMART.

Never forget that all those defining moments in your life add to your intelligence, wit, and humor. Share often and share wisely.


YOU IS IMPORTANT.


See this picture? It's of three lovely ladies from a coffee in 2016. They are (from left to right) "I'm-not-allowed-to-sleep", "I'm-having-trouble-fitting-in-therapy-AND-school" and "I-can't-stop-trembling". We, in our coffee groups share, fight, cry, laugh, get real, and linger til the buses roll. Face-to-face is where the tribes are born. We sip together, we heal together, and we grow stronger together. Til we build momentum and advocate for each other. Do you know what their names are now in 2019?

"Testifying-at-a-Senate-hearing-for-our-children", "Solving-the-housing-crisis-for-adults-with-disabilities", and "Building-a-website-chock-full-of-IEP-letter-templates".

You may see yourself today as a hot mess. I see you in the future as a force of nature.


YOU CAN CHANGE THE WORLD.

SOUTHSIDE SUPPORTS. SUPPORT SOUTHSIDE.

Love to you all! God bless.

Raissa Chandler



199 views0 comments
bottom of page